The Western Foothills 3A Conference recently announced its All-Conference team for 2023 men’s tennis season.

North Lincoln placed two on the All-Conference squad including Liam Carroll and Quinton Cook. East Lincoln’s Carson Brown also made the team.

Griffin Lovern of conference champion Hickory was named the WF3A Tennis Player of the Year, while the Coach of the Year award went to Patrick Smith of St. Stephens.

The full All-Conference team is listed below.

WF3A Tennis All-Conference Selections:

North Lincoln: Liam Carroll; Quinton Cook.

East Lincoln: Carson Brown.

Hickory: Clint Powers; Griffin Lovern; Graham Powers; Jack Nexsen; Parker Yount.

St. Stephens: A Jay Swisher; Blake Walker; Jackson VanBeurden.

Fred T. Foard: Grayson Walker.

North Iredell: Cade Combs; Garrett Cardell.

West Iredell: Lance Bowman.

Player of The Year: Griffin Lovern - Hickory.

Coach of The Year: Patrick Smith - St. Stephens.


Final Standings

Hickory               13-0    6-0

St. Stephens       11-1    5-1

North Lincoln       6-3     4-2

North Iredell        8-6     3-3

East Lincoln         5-7     2-4

Fred T. Foard       3-6     1-5

West Iredell         0-7     0-6

(Published May 11, 2023)

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.