RALEIGH (AP) — North Mecklenburg’s Tristan Maxwell and Newton-Conover’s Chyna Cornwell are The Associated Press men’s and women’s prep basketball players of the year in North Carolina for the 2019-20 season.

George Stackhouse of Fayetteville Westover and Dee Hardy of Fayetteville Smith were selected men’s and women’s coaches of the year in results released Friday. That followed a vote of 15 statewide media members who also selected the AP all-state men’s and women’s teams.

The awards came two months after the coronavirus pandemic led to the postponement, and eventually last month’s cancellation, of eight state championship games. The AP suspended its nomination process until there was clarity on the status of those games, then resumed after the North Carolina High School Athletic Association declared finalists as co-champions.

Maxwell, son of former NBA player Vernon Maxwell, averaged 24 points for the Class 4-A co-champion. The 6-foot-3 senior and Georgia Tech recruit earned seven votes to edge Concord Cannon sophomore Jaden Bradley, this year’s Gatorade state player of the year who finished with six votes.

Cornwell, a 6-3 senior, averaged 26.2 points and 16.7 rebounds for the 2-A co-champion. The Rutgers’ recruit had seven votes to finish one ahead of Wilmington Ashley junior Saniya Rivers, who shared last year’s AP award and won the Gatorade award for the second straight time.

Stackhouse led Westover to a 30-0 season and a share of the 3-A men’s title. His five votes were one ahead of Morganton Freedom’s Clint Zimmerman, whose 29-1 team was the other 3-A co-champion.

Hardy earned eight votes after Smith went 31-1 and claimed the 3-A women’s co-championship. Southeast Guilford’s Rachel Clark, last year’s AP coach of the year, was second with two votes after her 30-1 team claimed the other half of that 3-A crown.

Rivers was the only unanimous pick for either all-state team. The men’s team included two players – Raleigh Word of God’s Isaiah Todd and Hudson Moravian Prep’s Josh Hall – who are bypassing college basketball for professional options.


MEN: Tristan Maxwell, North Meck

WOMEN: Chyna Cornwell, Newton-Conover


MEN: George Stackhouse, Westover

WOMEN: Dee Hardy, Fayetteville- Smith


Tristan Maxwell, North Meck 

Jaden Bradley, Concord Cannon 

D’Marco Dunn, Westover

Dontrez Styles, Kinston

Lane Harrill, Cherryville

Isaiah Todd, Raleigh Word of God 

Carter Whitt, Leesville Road

Dylan Blake, First Flight

Nick Farrar, Apex Friendship

Breon Pass, Reidsville

Josh Hall, Moravian Prep

Cam Hayes, Greensboro Day

Kalib Matthews, Henderson Collegiate


Saniya Rivers, Wilmington Ashley

Chyna Cornwell, Newton-Conover

Kennedi Simmons, SE Guilford

Jacee Busick, Kernersville Glenn

Reigan Richardson, Concord Cannon

Jessica Timmons, North Meck

Anya Poole, Southeast Raleigh

Skylah Travis, Weldon

DaiJa Turner, Village Christian

Mallorie Haines, Davidson Day

Nevaeh Brown, Mallard Creek

Raven Preston, Southeast Guilford 

Abigail Wilson, West Rowan 

Molina Williams, The Burlington School

Shakira Baskerville, West Forsyth

Evan Miller, Ardrey Kell

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.