2017 LCS Basketball Team

The 2017 Lincoln Charter boys’ basketball 1A state championship team was recently inducted into the school’s Hall of Fame.  Lincoln Charter held its inaugural HOF induction ceremony last week at the school.


Lincoln Charter School recently held its inaugural Hall of Fame induction ceremony at the Denver campus.

Included in the list of inductees was the schools first athletic director, Dave Machado.  

Machado was instrumental in the development of the Lincoln Charter athletic program, serving the school from 1998 through 2016 in the capacities of board member, principal, athletic director, and chief administrator.  His work played an integral part in Lincoln Charter’s joining the North Carolina High School Athletic Association, as well as securing the Eagles’ involvement in the Western Piedmont Athletic Association and the Piedmont Charter Athletic Conference.   

Also going into the Lincoln Charter Hall of Fame was the 2017 boys’ state championship basketball team.

The Eagles’ team went 30-4 that season, defeating Winston-Salem Prep and Mount Airy in the Western Regional Finals in Winston-Salem before rolling over Kestral Heights 95-75 in the 1A championship game in Chapel Hill.

The 2016-17 team members included Kody Shubert, Zeke Mayfield, London England, Kendrick Davis, Levontae Knox, Jackson Gabriel, Axel Holm, Bryce Wilson, Jeremy Collonia, Cory Martin, Quentin Stewart, Jehlon Johnson, Tank Fricker, Joseph Rhodes, Demitri McCall, Josh Haudeck and Jalen Ward.  

The team was coached by head coach Bradley Gabriel, with Jamie Seitz, Chan Mayfield, Carl Lykes and Mark Shubert as assistants.

The 2017 boys’ golf team was also inducted after winning the 2017 1A state championship.  Team members were Justin Morgan, William Crook, Harrison Hall, Jacob Houser, Dylan Land, Byron Avason, Luke Parker and Andrew Saric.  Jamie Seitz and Rob Land were the coaches.  Morgan’s rounds of 74 and 75 helped lock up the state title.  

Other Hall of Fame inductees included Lincoln Charter’s first sports booster president Gary Morgan , who served Lincoln Charter from 2005-2015 as a softball coach, booster president and parent.  He was involved in the planning and construction of the Lincoln Charter athletic complex and multiple other additions to the athletic and academic facilities.  

Josh Williams, who has served the Lincoln Charter School community as a P.E. teacher, coach and mentor was also inducted.  He was instrumental in the development and success of the cross-country, swimming & diving, and track & field programs.  Williams has led the cross-country team to 5 regional championships, 2 state runner-ups, 2 individual state champions, and the 2018 NCHSAA 1A State Championship.  He has also led the Eagles’ swim team to 4 regional championships and 2 state runner-up finishes, with10 individual champions. 

Other athletes inducted were Sarah Kenley Hansley, who played varsity volleyball and softball for four years. 

She was a 4-time All-Conference selection in softball, and 2013 Player of the Year.  Hansley played softball for 4 years at Lenoir-Rhyne University, where she was part of three SAC champions.  She was named the SAC Player of the Year in 2017, hitting .429 with 12 homers and 55 RBIs, and was named a National FastPitch Coaches Association All-American.    

Also inducted was Sophia Bhalla.  A multi-sport athlete at LCS, Bhalla was an individual state champion in both cross-country (2012), and in swimming in the 200-Medley Relay (2014) and in the 400 Freestyle Relay (2015). 

And Christina Lappin, the school’s most decorated swimmer where she was a four-time NISCA Swimming All American, All-State, All-Region and All-Conference and Swimmer of the Year. She was a 9-time state champion in the 100-Butterfly (2013), 50-Freestyle (2013), 50-Freestyle (2014), 200-Freestyle (2014), 200-Medley Relay (2014), 100-Freestyle (2015), 400-Freestyle Relay (2015), 100-Freestyle (2016) and 200-Freestyle (2016).

At the University of South Carolina, Lappin was a 2017 finalist at the SEC Swimming & Diving Championships in the 100-Butterfly and Relays, and in 2018, an SEC finalist in the 50-Freestyle, 100-Freestyle and Relays. In 2019, Lappin was an SEC finalist in the 50-Freestyle, 100-Freestyle, 100-Butterfly and Relays. And in 2019, Christina was an NCAA Swimming & Diving championship qualifier in the 50-Freestyle, 100-Freestyle and 100-Butterfly.  She ie the current record holder at USC in the 50-Freestyle, 100-Freestyle, 100-Butterfly, 200-Freestyle Relay, 400-Freestyle Relay, 200-Medley Relay, 400-Medley Relay and member of the Gamecock Leadership Academy.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.