LCS Logo

The South Fork 2A recently released the All-Conference baseball team for the 2021 season and leading the way with five selections each were league co-champions Lincoln Charter and Cherryville.

The Eagles’ Jacob Smith, Davis Al-Hussaini, Mason Smith, Blake Nelson and Cole Nelson were all on the All-Conference squad.

Jacob Smith, a freshman, hit .415 for Lincoln Charter with 16 RBIs, while senior Davis Al-Hussaini hit .468 with five home runs and 31 runs driven in. On the mound, Al-Hussaini posted a 0.42 ERA in 33 innings pitched, striking out 57 batters and walking just nine.

Mason Smith, a junior, hit .431 for the Eagles with 5 homers and 24 RBIs. In 33 innings pitched, Smith’s ERA was 1.08 with 79 strikeouts and ten walks.

Senior Blake Nelson batted .362 for Lincoln Charter with a pair of home runs and 22 RBIs, while Cole Nelson, a sophomore, hit .375 with 13 runs driven in.

The Eagles finished the season with a record of 15-2, 11-1 in conference play and a trip to the third round of the 1A state playoffs.

Five Cherryville Ironmen also made the All-Southern Piedmont 1A baseball team, including Dalton Pence, Will Fowler, Christian Hahn, Landon Hahn and Ty Heavner.

Pence, a UNC-Chapel Hill commit, posted a record of 4-0 on the mound in five appearances with a 1.50 ERA. The senior struck out 56 and walked 9.

Cherryville’s Scott Heavner was named the conference’s Coach of the Year. Heavner led the Ironmen to 1 record of 14-2, 11-1 in league play, the SP1A co-championship and a second-round playoff appearance.

The full Southern Piedmont 1A All-Conference baseball team is listed below.

Southern Piedmont 1A All-Conference Baseball 2021

Lincoln Charter: Jacob Smith, Davis Al-Hussaini, Mason Smith, Blake Nelson, Cole Nelson.

Cherryville: Dalton Pence, Will Fowler, Christian Hahn, Landon Hahn, Ty Heavner.

Christ the King: Joseph Flynn, Jake Dulski, Joseph Sides.

Highland Tech: Gavin Blackwood, Liam Fulbright, Jonathan Queler.

Thomas Jefferson: Zac Flontek, Ben Flontek, Luke Slawter.

Bessemer City: Justice Cooper, Zach Adams.

Player of the Year: Dalton Pence - Cherryville.

Coach of the Year: Scott Heavner - Cherryville.

(Published June 30, 2021)

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.