Derek Martin

East Lincoln’s Derek Martin was named a regional recipient of the Willie Bradshaw Memorial Endowed Scholarship for the 2019-2020 school year.


East Lincoln High School’s Derek Martin has been selected as a regional recipient of the Willie Bradshaw Memorial Endowed Scholarship for the 2019-2020 school year.

The North Carolina High School Athletic Association announced the winners of the Willie Bradshaw Memorial Endowed Scholarship on Thursday.  

The Willie Bradshaw Endowed Scholarship provides $750 of scholarship support to selected outstanding Black African American, Native American, Alaska Native, Asian American, Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander, or Hispanic American student-athletes participating on a sanctioned varsity team at an NCHSAA member school.

 Martin is a two-sport athlete, participating in football and baseball for the Mustangs. 

As a baseball standout, Martin was selected along with five other North Carolina players for the USA Baseball Southeast Region. The team advanced to win gold in 2018 at the USA National Team Identification Series Champion Cup. 

Off the field, Martin is a member of the National Technical Honor Society, National Beta Club, and the Future Farmers of America. He plans to pursue a degree in biology.

Out of the regional recipients, one male and one female student athlete have also been selected as a state scholarship recipient and each receive an additional $1,000 scholarship as state award winners.  This year’s state recipients are Jessie Ssengonzi from Green Hope High School and LaTyra English from Union High School.

The Willie Bradshaw Memorial Endowed Scholarship is in honor of Durham-native, Willie Bradshaw, an NCHSAA Hall of Fame inductee in 1995 and National High School Hall of Fame inductee in 2010. 

Bradshaw was an outstanding athlete at Hillside High School, playing on the undefeated 1943 football team that went untied and unscored upon. 

He went on to North Carolina College (now NC Central University) and then on to pitch professionally for several Negro League teams. He became the first African American city or county athletic director when he took over for the Durham City School system until his retirement in 1992. 

Other regional winners were Nathan Bailey – Atkins High School, Najashi Belcher – Walkertown High School, Kenzie Eagleman – Swain County High School, Chaz Fitzgerald – Pasquotank County High School, Jhasiyana Gilliam – John A. Holmes High School, Alysia Johnson – Hillside High School, Madison Pompey – Westover High School, Joshua Robinson – Davie High School, Zachary Scott – Purnell Swett High School, Viasha Tate – Freedom High School, Alexander Toback – Cleveland High School, Kylar Wiggins – Northern Nash High School and McKayla Williams – Cox Mill High School.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.