Home » Breaking News » Propst named Republican of the Year

Propst named Republican of the Year

Sen Thom Tillis (left) and Lincoln County Republican Party chairman Jon Propst on Friday.

Staff Writer

The Lincoln County Republican Party hosted Sen. Thom Tillis and named outgoing party chairman Jon Propst “Republican of the Year” at the GOP’s annual Lincoln-Reagan Dinner on Friday.

“I am very humbled by this award,” Propst said. “This is representative of the many hardworking volunteers and loyal Republicans that I have had the pleasure of working with over the last several years. Our success has been a team effort.”

Other award recipients included Raye Watson-Smyth, Brian Crisson, Mary Claire Brown and Beverly and Andy Robinson. Joyce Mitchem was recognized with the lifetime achievement award.

“Joyce has been a lifelong Republican and her contributions to this party are second to none,” Propst said.

The audience, a crowd of 250, according to estimates from party officials, heard speeches from newly-elected North Carolina Superintendent of Public Instruction Mark Johnson and Tillis. Tillis was presented with the Order of the Long Leaf Pine, Gov. Pat McCrory.

The Lincoln County GOP will have its annual precinct meetings and county convention on Saturday, beginning at 10 a.m. The convention, open only to registered Republicans living in Lincoln County, will be held at the Senior Center, located at 514 South Academy Street in Lincolnton.

Image courtesy of Contributed

You must be logged in to post a comment Login