Home » Sports » Lincoln County lands 9 on all-district teams

Lincoln County lands 9 on all-district teams


Lincoln County is well represented in this year’s N.C. Softball Coaches Association all-district awards.
West Lincoln landed five on the 2A list, and North Lincoln had four on the 3A list for District 6.
The Rebels, who went 22-4 and swept the Southern District 7 Athletic 2A Conference regular season and conference tournament titles, were also represented by the District 6 Player of the Year and Co-Pitcher of the Year. Rising sophomore slugger Kylee Leonhardt, who hit .602 with 11 home runs as a freshman, was named the district’s player of the year while teammate Cassidy Wise, who went 22-4 with a 2.18 ERA and had 221 strikeouts in 161 2/3 innings, was a co-pitcher of the year selection with Brennan Broadaway of West Stanly.
Leonhardt and Wise were named the SD-7’s offensive and defensive players of the year, respectively, last month.
Katie Hively, Madison Ferguson and Meredith Ferguson were also named to the all-district 2A team.
Sidney Russell, Hollyn Franklin, Peyton Wilson and Courtney Trickle of North Lincoln were named to the 3A all-district team. The Knights finished second to state 4A champion Alexander Central in the North Piedmont 3A/4A Conference, and reached the fourth round of the state 3A playoffs, falling to eventual state 3A champion Monroe Sun Valley.
Schools from Anson, Cabarrus, Cleveland, Gaston, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Rowan, Stanly and Union counties make up District 6. Each school’s coaches are responsible for nominating their players to the NCSCA, then a special selection committee compiles the teams.
The NCSCA all-state teams will be announced Monday.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login