Home » Local News » Top Stories » Sen. Curtis named to Obamacare analysis committee by Berger

Sen. Curtis named to Obamacare analysis committee by Berger



Staff Writer


State Senate President Pro Tempore Phil Berger (R-Rockingham) announced last Wednesday that he has appointed Sen. Fletcher Hartsell (R-Cabarrus) and Sen. David Curtis (R-Lincoln) as senate co-chairmen of a legislative committee that will examine the impacts of the Affordable Care Act on North Carolina.

The Joint Legislative Study Committee on the Affordable Care Act was formed by legislative leaders in January to monitor how the implementation of President Barack Obama’s healthcare mandate is affecting North Carolina’s residents and economy.

“We continue to hear a barrage of disturbing reports of North Carolinians losing their health coverage, of families struggling to pay sky-high premiums, and of small businesses being slammed with outrageous tax penalties courtesy of Obamacare,” Berger said in a press release. “This committee will hear directly from citizens, businesses, health care providers and state government officials on how this federal mandate is impacting them.”

According to the organization Enroll America, more than 107,000 North Carolinians had signed up for plans through the ACA-established Health Insurance Marketplace as of Dec. 28.

Committee members include Sens. Chad Barefoot (R-Wake), Tamara Barringer (R-Wake), Andrew Brock (R-Davie), Angela Bryant (D-Nash), Malcolm Graham (D-Mecklenburg), Kathy Harrington (R-Gaston), Clark Jenkins (D-Edgecombe), Floyd McKissick (D-Durham), Gene McLaurin (D-Richmond), Martin Nesbitt (D-Buncombe), Earline Parmon (D-Forsyth), Louis Pate (R-Wayne), Ron Rabin (R-Harnett), Shirley Randleman (R-Wilkes), Gladys Robinson (D-Guilford), Norm Sanderson (R-Pamlico), Josh Stein (D-Wake), Jeff Tarte (R-Mecklenburg), Jerry Tillman (R-Randolph), Trudy Wade (R-Guilford) and Mike Woodard (D-Durham).

The committee’s first meeting date and agenda will be announced in the coming weeks.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login