Home » Local News » Top Stories » Dems keep City Council

Dems keep City Council

Jaclyn Anthony / Lincoln Times-News Democrat Martin Eaddy (center), an election-night winner, shakes hands with Mayor John Gilleland (right) as Democratic candidate Mary Frances White looks on after Tuesday’s election. BELOW: Republican Devin Rhyne, who won reelection in a race against White, addresses the crowd at the Cultural Center.


Staff Writer


Democrats maintained control of Lincolnton’s City Council after Tuesday’s municipal elections.

Martin Eaddy took Lincolnton’s Ward III seat on the council over Republican Jay Thomas, and kept the Democrats at a 3-1 advantage. Republican incumbent Devin Rhyne won the Ward I seat over Democrat Mary Frances White and Republican John Gilleland, running unopposed, won reelection as the city’s Mayor.

“I plan to be a public servant and not play politics,” Eaddy said. “Lincolnton has tremendous opportunities, but we need to deal with the budget issues over the next two years. We need to find a way to sell water to the county that is mutually beneficial to both city and county residents.”

Mayor Gilleland stated that while he wished the three republican candidates could have been elected into office, he is pleased by the response at the polls.

“I’m disappointed because I wanted all three of us to go in together, but I’m pleased with all the work people did,” said Gilleland. “People worked really hard, and we got a lot of people out to vote. We got at least 200 republicans out who normally wouldn’t vote.”

Rhyne believes the citizens’ decision for a split council emphasizes the need for council members to work together.

“There’s a job to be done for the betterment of the citizens, and we all five need to make that commitment to move forward,” said Rhyne. “From the amount of folks who have voted, the people are getting more involved, more energized, and I think we’re definitely a two-party town.”

Although White did not win the election, she is still very thankful for those who supported her.

“I’d like to thank the community for their hard work and financial support,” said White. “I have earned a new family.”

Democrat chairwoman Deanna McGinnis said that there is a possibility that there will be a recount of the votes for White and Rhyne. Elected officials will be sworn into office Dec. 5.


Unofficial Results

8 of 8 precincts reporting

City of Lincolnton Mayor

John Gilleland (Rep): 1,276

Write-in: 52

Council Member Ward I

Mary Frances White (Dem): 942

Devin Rhyne (Rep): 981

Council Member Ward III

Martin Eaddy (Dem): 1,035

Jay Thomas (Rep): 887

City of Lincolnton Straight Party

Democrat: 424

Republican: 284



Image courtesy of KaAnSuli | Lincoln Times-News

You must be logged in to post a comment Login