Home » Local News » Top Stories » Rep. Saine honored with Public Leadership award

Rep. Saine honored with Public Leadership award




Staff Writer
The North Carolina Technology Association has announced two of the three individual award winners for the NCTA 21 Awards Gala.

Lincoln County’s General Assembly representative Jason Saine will be honored with the Public Leadership Award. The award is given to a public sector individual or group that has demonstrated leadership in the use of technology. Currently serving his second term, Saine has become an integral leader regarding information technology issues as the Chair of the IT Appropriations Subcommittee in the House. He has also headed numerous issues during the 2013 Legislative session, such as protecting student and employee social media privacy, changing State tax law to incent IT job creation, and encouraging IT innovation on the university and state government levels.

The event is being held on Nov. 7 at the Sheraton Imperial in Durham. Known as the primary voice of North Carolina’s technology industry, NCTA will acknowledge excellence in the state’s tech sector during the awards gala. The three individual awards include Outstanding Achievement, Public Leadership, and Tech Exec of the Year.

“This is really where I poured my passion,” said Saine. “This being my first full session, it’s very humbling to win an award so early in my career. It’s a little mesmerizing because it’s an impressive list of people [that work] in the North Carolina technology sector.”

Frank Drendel, chairman of the board and founder of CommScope, will be honored with the Outstanding Achievement Award. The award is given to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of the technology industry over the course of their career. Drendel served as CommScope’s CEO since its inception in 1976 as a North Carolina corporation based in Hickory until January 2011, when the Carlyle Group acquisitioned the company, taking it private. In addition, he also serves as the director of the National Cable and Telecommunications Association, SCTE Executive Council and Tyco International, Ltd.

The final individual award is known as the North Carolina Tech Executive of the Year. It is a “people’s choice” format, determined through online polling. The winner of this award will be announced at the awards gala on Nov. 7.  This year, more than 11,000 votes were cast. The NCTA reports that nearly 600 people are already registered for the event. Early bird pricing for gala tickets ends Thursday, Oct. 24. Those interested in attending should register at www.NCTA21Awards.com.


You must be logged in to post a comment Login