Home » Local News » Top Stories » 2nd primary election set for Tuesday

2nd primary election set for Tuesday



Staff Writer


The race to be the Republican nominee for the N.C. Senate District 44 seat, encompassing Lincoln and parts of Gaston and Iredell counties, will be decided during Tuesday’s second primary election.

The runoff is necessary as no candidate received 40 percent of the vote in May’s primary.

Contending for the seat are Dr. David Curtis of Denver and Sen. Chris Carney of Mooresville, who was appointed to the Senate in November by Republican Party executive committee members from the three counties.

Though Curtis received backing from the Lincoln County Republican Party members, those from both Iredell and Gaston counties united behind Carney with weighted votes.

More Lincoln voters similarly supported Curtis in May’s primary, giving him 47.58 percent of the vote within the county in the three-way contest, which also included Karen Ray of Iredell County.

Overall, Carney had about 35 percent of the vote in the district to roughly 34 percent for Curtis, with third-place finisher Ray getting about 31 percent.

The winner of Tuesday’s runoff will face Democratic candidate Ross Bulla of Denver in November’s general election. Bulla was unopposed in May’s primary.

While the Senate race represents the only local contest on Tuesday’s ballot, both Republicans and Democrats have statewide races in which to cast votes.

Lincoln County Board of Elections Director Bill Beam told the Times-News that, by midday Friday, 139 ballots had been cast during one-stop early voting.

Other races on Tuesday’s ballot for Lincoln County voters include:


Republican ballot:


  • N.C. Lieutenant Governor: Dan Forest or Tony Gurley
  • N.C. Commissioner of Insurance: Richard Morgan or Mike Causey
  • N.C. Secretary of State: Kenn Gardner or Ed Goodwin
  • N.C. Superintendent of Public Instruction: John Tedesco or Richard Alexander


Democratic ballot:


  • N.C. Commissioner of Labor: Marlowe Foster or John C. Brooks

In addition to registered Republicans and Democrats, those eligible to vote include the following, according to the N.C. Board of Elections website:

  • Unaffiliated voters who did not participate in the May 8 primary are eligible to choose which party ballot they wish to vote in the second primary.
  • Unaffiliated voters who voted a Democratic ballot in the primary may vote only Democratic.
  • Unaffiliated voters who voted a Republican ballot in the primary may vote only Republican.
  • There are no Libertarian or nonpartisan ballots available for Libertarian voters or unaffiliated voters who voted either Libertarian or nonpartisan in the May 8 primary.

Polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. Tuesday.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login