Home » Local News » Slate of candidates for May 8 primary set

Slate of candidates for May 8 primary set


LTN Staff reports


With the closing of the candidate filing window for 2012 primary elections on Wednesday, the slate of candidates running for federal, state and local offices has been set.

Unaffiliated candidates who gather enough signatures can mount an effort to get on the November ballot, but that won’t affect the choices North Carolina voters face in May.

In North Carolina, voters who are registered with a political party may vote in that party’s primary. Voters who are registered as unaffiliated will be able to request a Democratic, Libertarian or Republican ballot, but will have to make selections from among that party’s candidates only, not vote for one party in one race and another party in a different contest.

The following is an unofficial list of candidates expected to be on the primary ballot in Lincoln County, based on information from the North Carolina Board of Elections and Lincoln County Board of Elections websites.

An (i) next to candidates means they are incumbents, the current holders of the office.



Democrats — Barack Obama (i)

Libertarians – Roger Gary, R.J. Harris, Gary Johnson, Carl Person, Bill Still, Lee Wrights

Republicans – Newt Gingrich, Ron Paul, Mitt Romney, Rick Santorum


U.S. House of Representatives

Democrats –Patsy Keever of Asheville, Tim Murphy of Rutherfordton, Terry Bellamy of Asheville.

Republicans – Ken Fortenberry of Denver, Patrick McHenry of Cherryville (i), Donald Peterson of Cramerton



Democrats – Walter Dalton of Raleigh, Gary Dunn of Matthews, Bob Etheridge of Lillington, Bill Faison of Efland, Gardenia Henley of Winston-Salem, Bruce Blackmon of Buies Creek

Republicans – Jim Harney of Fayetteville, Scott Jones of Pleasant Garden, Jim Mahan of Denver, Pat McCrory of Charlotte, Charles Kenneth Moss of Randleman, Paul Wright of Dudley

Libertarian – Barbara Howe of Oxford


Lieutenant Governor

Democrats — Eric Mansfield of Fayetteville, Linda Coleman of Knightdale

Republicans – Dale Folwell of Winston-Salem, Dan Forest of Raleigh, Tony Gurley of Raleigh, Grey Mills of Mooresville, Arthur Jason Rich of Garland

N.C. Attorney General

Democrat – Roy Cooper (i)

N.C. Auditor

Democrat  — Beth Wood of Raleigh (i)

Republicans – Joseph Hank DeBragga of Raleigh, Greg Dority of Washington, N.C., Debra Goldman of Cary, Fern Shubert of Marshville, Rudy Wright of Hickory


N.C. Commissioner of Agriculture

Democrats – Walter Smith of Yadkinville, Scott Bryant of Siler City

Republicans – Bill McManus of Davidson, Steve Troxler of Brown Summit (i)


N.C. Commissioner of Insurance

Democrat – Wayne Goodwin of Raleigh (i)

Republicans – James McCall of Mooresville, Richard Morgan of Pinehurst, Mike Causey of Greensboro


N.C. Commissioner of Labor

Democrats – Marlowe Foster of Raleigh, Ty Richardson of Raleigh, John Brooks of Raleigh

Republican – Cherie Berry of Newton (i)


N.C. Secretary of State

Democrat – Elaine Marshall of Raleigh (i)

Republicans – A.J. Daoud of Pilot Mountain, Kenn Gardner of Raleigh, Ed Goodwin of Edenton, Mike Beitler of Oak Ridge


N.C. Superintendent of Public Instruction

Democrat – June Atkinson of Raleigh (i)

Republicans – Ray Ernest Martin of Cary, David Scholl of Matthews, John Tedesco of Garner, Richard Alexander of Monroe, Mark Crawford of Montreat


N.C. Treasurer

Democrats – Ron Elmer of Cary, Janet Cowell of Raleigh (i)

Republicans – Frank Roche of Cary, Steven Royal of Elkin


N.C. State Senate, District 44

Democrat – Ross Bulla of Denver

Republicans – Karen Ray of Mooresville, Chris Carney of Mooresville (i), David Curtis of Denver

N.C. State House, District 97

Republicans – Jim Klein of Denver, Charles Newman of Iron Station, Jason Saine of Denver (i)


Lincoln County Commissioner

Voters will pick three choices with three of the board’s five seats up this year.

Republicans – Mike Davis of Crouse, Cecelia Allran Martin of Crouse, Carrol Mitchem of Vale (i),  Alex Patton of Lincolnton (i), Martin Oakes of Denver, Larry Turbyfill of Denver


State courts

A later article will detail candidates for North Carolina Supreme Court and Court of Appeals.


District Court

These seats are nonpartisan.

Judges K. Dean Black of Lincolnton, Anna Foster of Shelby and Larry Wilson of Shelby are running unopposed for re-election.

Judge Meredith Shufford of Lincolnton faces a challenge from Gwynn Radeker of Shelby.


You must be logged in to post a comment Login