Home » Local News » Top Stories » 2 days left for candidates to file

2 days left for candidates to file

No Democrats in races for Lincoln County commissioner,
N.C. House; no Republicans for district court judgeships

Managing Editor

Just two days are left for anyone considering a run for a range of federal, state and county offices this year.
The filing window to seek election will close at noon on Wednesday.
While some races this year are already shaping up to be highly competitive, a number of others are uncontested this year.
U.S. House of Representatives, District 10: Both parties have multiple candidates running for Congress this year in the slightly redrawn district. On the Republican side, incumbent Rep. Patrick McHenry of  Cherryville faces Denver journalist Ken Fortenberry.
On the Democratic side, state legislator Patsy Keever of Asheville and former educator Timothy Murphy of Rutherfordton have filed. Asheville Mayor Terry Bellamy has also announced her candidacy, but had not filed for the seat as of Friday, according to the state Board of Elections.
Governor: With Gov. Bev Perdue declining to seek a second term, many candidates from multiple parties have lined up to seek her office. Hoping to keep the seat for the Democrats are Lt. Gov. Walter Dalton of Raleigh, Gary Dunn of Matthews, state legislator Bill Faison of Efland and Gardenia Henly of Winston-Salem.
On the Republican side, former Charlotte mayor Patrick McCrory, who lost narrowly to Perdue in 2008, has filed, as have James Harney of Fayetteville, Paul Wright of Dudley and Charles Moss of Randleman. A Libertarian candidate, Barbara Howe of Oxford, has also filed.
Lt. Governor: With Dalton pursuing the governorship, others are hoping to replace him. Democrats Linda Coleman of Knightdale and Eric Mansfield of Fayetteville have filed. Republicans Dale Folwell of Winston-Salem, Dan Forest of Raleigh and Tony Gurley of Raleigh have also filed.
N.C. Attorney General: Democratic incumbent Roy Cooper appears poised to win re-election without opposition from his own party or any other unless a challenger files before noon on Wednesday.
N.C. Auditor: Democratic incumbent Beth Wood of Raleigh has no challengers in her own party. Republicans Greg Dority of Washington, Debra Goldman of Cary and Joseph Debragga of Raleigh have filed for the seat.
N.C. Commissioner of Agriculture: Republican incumbent Steve Troxler of Brown Summit is currently unopposed in his own party, but will face a Democratic opponent in the fall. Hoping to be their party’s nominee are filed candidates Walter Smith of Yadkinville and Scott Bryant of Siler City.
N.C. Commissioner of Insurance: Democratic incumbent Wayne Goodwin of Raleigh faces a single Republican challenger so far, Mike Causey of Greensboro.
N.C. Commissioner of Labor: Republican incumbent Cherie Berry of Newton is unopposed so far in her own party. Three Raleigh Democrats have filed, including Marlowe Foster, John Brooks and Ty Richardson.
N.C. Secretary of State: Democratic incumbent Elaine Marshall is also unopposed in her own party and faces a trio of Republican contenders in Kenn Gardner of Raleigh, Ed Goodwin of Edenton and Mike Beitler of Oak Ridge.
N.C. Superintendent of Public Instruction: Democratic incumbent June Atkinson faces a primary challenger in Rick Glazier of Fayetteville. Republicans Ray Earnest Martin of Cary and Mark Crawford of Montreat have also filed.
N.C. Treasurer: Competing for this post are incumbent Democrat Janet Cowell of Raleigh and Republican Steve Royal of Elkin.
N.C. Senate, District 44: With Republican Sen. Chris Carney of Mooresville, a former city commissioner, a recent appointee to the post, it’s little surprise that candidates have lined up to prevent him from winning election in his own right in a district that’s been substantially redrawn to include more of northern Iredell County and less of Gaston County than the old District 41, the seat that Carney currently holds.
Challenging Carney in the GOP primary are Karen Ray of Mooresville and David Curtis of Denver. On the Democratic side, Ross Bulla of Denver it the lone entrant in the contest.
N.C. House, District 97: A similar situation in the state house has brought out challengers to recent Republican appointee, Rep. Jason Saine of Denver. Although no Democrats have entered the race, two fellow Republicans are hoping to take the seat away from Saine. File are Jim Klein of Denver, a Lincoln County commissioner, and Charles Newman of Iron Station.
State judicial races: Several state Supreme Court and Court of Appeals races will be on the ballot this year and candidates have lined up to compete in many of them. The Times-News will review those races in a later article.
District Court Judge 27B: Four judgeships are up for re-election this year, but only one of them is contested to this point. Judge Meredith Shufford of Lincolnton faces a challenge from former Gwynn Radeker of Shelby, a former assistant district attorney; both are Democrats vying for the nonpartisan seat.
Filed to defend their seats without opposition to this point are Judges David Black of Lincolnton, Anna Foster of Shelby and Larry Wilson of Shelby.
Lincoln County Commissioner: Three seats are up for re-election this year and only four Republicans have emerged to compete for the posts. Those include current Commissioners Carrol Mitchem of Vale and Alex Patton of Lincolnton, along with Cecelia Martin of Crouse and Martin Oakes of Denver.
Other local offices: Also up for election this year are four seats on the Board of Education. Filing for those nonpartisan posts will not take place until this summer.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login