Home » Sports » Rebels take SP title

Rebels take SP title

The West Lincoln Rebels claimed their fourth consecutive conference title last night when they defeated the Cherryville Ironmen 68-6. This was the Rebels eleventh conference title in the past twelve years.
With this win, the Rebel wrestlers improved their four year conference record to 23 -0. Coach Butch Ross was very proud of his boys. “They have wrestled hard against some good teams. The teams are well coached and the boys have worked hard to come out on top.”
This year, West Lincoln has defeated South Iredell, East Lincoln, Highland Tech, Lincolnton, North Lincoln, and Cherryville.
Leading the team this year for the Rebels are Senior captains, Matt Avery and Tyler Wilfong, They have a combined conference record of 14-0.
Matt Whittle, Logan Shronce, Randall Neal, Johnny Walker, and Clay Heafner are also undefeated through the conference season for the Rebels.
The Rebels will host the Southern Piedmont 1A/2A Conference Tournament on Saturday, February 4 at 10 a.m.
With the win over the Ironmen, the Rebels improve their overall record to 26–9. They will be back in action on Friday night against Davie County and East Rowan at 6:00 at Davie County. Davie County is currently ranked second in 4A.
On Tuesday night, the Rebels will host Alexander Central at home beginning at 7 p.m.

Southern Piedmont Conference Results: West Lincoln 53 South Iredell 15, West Lincoln 72 East Lincoln 9 ,West Lincoln 79 Highland Tech 0, West Lincoln 82 Lincolnton 0, West Lincoln 63 North Lincoln 12, West Lincoln 68 Cherryville 6, West Lincoln 68 Cherryville 6
West Lincoln vs. Cherryville results: 103: Chris Long (WL) pin John Whitworth (C) 0:27, 112: Matt Allen (C) dec. Brian Sailors (WL) 7-2, 119: Matt Whittle (WL) pin Ryan Guest (C) 3:03, 125: Jack Wombough (WL) maj. dec. Fernando Mandragon (C) 20 – 6, 130: Brandon Oekers (C) dec. Brad Owens (WL) 4-0, 135: Payden Houser (WL) maj. dec. Michael Stegall (C) 18-4, 140: Matt Avery (WL) pin Jeff Shirley (C) 0:55, 145: Tyler Wilfong (WL) won by forfeit, 152: Logan Shronce (WL) pin Caleb Taylor (C) 3:36, 160: James Pearson (WL) pin Tony Connor (C) 0:45
171: Randall Neal (WL) pin David Brown (C) 2:14, 189: Johnny Walker (WL) won by forfeit, 215: Ethan Peterson (WL) Allen Cobb (C) 0:54 , 275: Clay Heafner (WL) pin Christen Gomez (C) 4:39.
by Elizabeth Ross Carpenter

You must be logged in to post a comment Login