Home » Sports » Rebels continue success

Rebels continue success

The West Lincoln Wrestling team remains unbeaten in conference action as they prepare to wrestle the Lincolnton Wolves tonight.
On Friday, they traveled to East Lincoln to take on the Mustangs in the first of two matches for the night. The Rebels outscored the Mustangs 72–9, with East Lincoln’s only wins coming at the 125lb. and 215lb. weight class.
In non-conference action, West Lincoln also wrestled the Red Raiders of South Point. They defeated South Point with a score of 61–16.
Chris Long, Brian Sailors, Matt Whittle, Jack Wombough, Payden Houser, Matt Avery, Tyler Wilfong, Logan Shronce, James Pearson, Ethan Peterson, and Clay Heafner scored wins for the Rebels.
Tuesday, the Rebels continued their conference schedule with a match at Highland Tech. The Rebels scored a shutout Highland with a score of 79-0.
With these wins, the Rebels improved their record to 23-9 on the season and 3-0 in the conference. They will be back in action tonight at 7:00 against the Lincolnton Wolves at West Lincoln.
Due to the schedule change for exams, Tuesday night’s match against Mooresville has been canceled

West Lincoln 72 East Lincoln 9
103: Chris Long (WL) won by forfeit 112: Brian Sailors (WL) won by forfeit 119: Matt Whittle (WL) pin Justin McRae (EL) 0:18 125: Jeremy James (EL) dec. Jack Wombough (WL) 14-13 130: Brad Owens (WL) pin Raven Hasian (EL) 2:52 135: Payden Houser (WL) pin Damon Simpson (EL) 3:06 140: Matt Avery (WL) pin Anthony Basini (EL) 2:54 145: Tyler Wilfong (WL) pin Zach Springs (EL) 1:35 152: Logan Shronce (WL) pin Jimmy Morrison (EL) 1:18 160: James Pearson (WL) pin Matt Hughes (EL) 1:18 171: Randall Neal (WL) pin Fred Wingate (EL) 1:07 189: Johnny Walker (WL) pin Randy Tarleton (EL) 0:41 215: Tyree Watkins (EL) pin Ethan Peterson (WL) 0:53 275: Clay Heafner (WL) pin Mike Whealdon (EL) 2:46

West Lincoln 61 South Point 16
103: Chris Long (WL) won by forfeit 112: Brian Sailors (WL) Taylor Brown (SP) 1:03 119: Matt Whittle (WL) pin Trinity Deese (SP) 2:52 125: Jack Wombough (WL) pin Johnathan Howland (SP) 1:26
130: Phillip Goodwin (SP) tech fall Brad Owens (WL) 135: Payden Houser (WL) maj. dec. John Strawn (SP) 12-4 140: Matt Avery (WL) pin Kyle Hayney (SP) 5:38 145: Tyler Wilfong (WL) pin Dillion Gantt (SP) 0:33 152: Logan Shronce (WL) won by injury default 160: James Pearson (WL) dec. Johnathan Jordan (SP) 5-4 171: John Goodwin (SP) tech fall Randall Neal (WL) 189: Daniel Hill (SP) pin Johnny Walker (WL) 4:51 215: Ethan Peterson (WL) won by forfeit 275: Clay Heafner (WL) pin Brandon King (SP) 1:11

West Lincoln 79 Highland Tech 0
103: Chris Long (WL) won by forfeit 112: Brian Sailors (WL) pin Peter Grichanichenko (HT) 1:17 119: Matt Whittle (WL) pin Brad McKee (HT) 1:28 125: Jack Wombough (WL) won by forfeit 130: Brad Owens (WL) dec. Matt Rickle 13-11 135: Payden Houser (WL) pin Alex Hartsell (HT) 3:49
140: Matt Avery (WL) maj. dec. Josh McMillan (HT) 14-0 145: Tyler Wilfong (WL) pin John Ward (HT) 2:49 152: Logan Shronce (WL) won by forfeit 160: James Pearson (WL) won by forfeit
171: Randall Neal (WL) pin Andrew Myers (HT) 1:01 189: Johnny Walker (WL) pin Orlando Floyd (HT) 0:28 215: Tyree Watkins (EL) won by forfeit 275: Clay Heafner (WL) won by forfeit.
by Elizabeth Ross Carpenter

You must be logged in to post a comment Login