Home » Sports » Wolves hand out year-end awards

Wolves hand out year-end awards

Santana Edwards and Kyle Snyder walked away with the Harris Spirit Awards in honor of the female and male athletes of the year Thursday night at the Lincolnton High School Sports Banquet.
Edwards and Snyder were recognized by athletic director Scott Cloninger as the only two athletes in the senior class that had participated in three sports in all four years of their high school career.
In addition to their Harris Spirit Awards, Edwards was named most valuable player in softball, while Snyder was named the MVP in football.
The Richard Smith Award was presented to Matthew Goodson. This award is given in honor of an athlete`s sportsmanship on and off the field of play. Goodson also received the Spark Plug Award in wrestling.
The Jonathan Brookins Scholarship was presented by the late baseball player`s uncle, John Shuford. Shuford awarded the 2005 scholarship to senior baseball player Dustin Weaver in honor of his accomplishments on the field and in the classroom.
Jamie Creech presented former baseball coach Bobby Martin with a special gift. Martin was given a small container of dirt from the pitcher`s mound in the old Fulton County Stadium in Atlanta where the Braves played for many years before it was torn down. Martin has been an avid Braves fan all of his life. The gift was donated by WLON`s Tim Biggerstaff and long time sports fan L.D. Scronce.
Perhaps the most touching award of the evening came when girls basketball coach Franklin Lowery presented senior Lindsey Sain with a special award. Lowery handed Sain the WIN Award, which stands for Whatever Is Needed. Sain was injured in the first scrimmage of the year, before the season started. She was only able to suit up for Senior Night, the Wolves final home game of the season.
Assistant principal Tony Worley thanked many people for making Lincolnton High School`s athletic program a success, but none more than Cloninger for his time and effort that he puts in throughout the year.
Listed below are Thursday night`s award winners:

MVP – Kyle Snyder
Spark Plug – Dustin Metts
Best Offensive Lineman – Blair Ledford
Best Offensive Back –
Zack Gibson
Best Defensive Back –
Lance Friday

Junior Varsity Football
MVP – Mardriekus
Spark Plug – Marcus

Cross Country – Boys
MVP – Mike Mauney
Spark Plug – Andrew

Cross Country – Girls
MVP – Emily Mackie
Spark Plug – Natalia

Varsity Volleyball
MVP – Lindsey Sain
MVP – Kennan Eaddy

Junior Varsity Volleyball
MVP – Kim Zuniga
Spark Plug – Keelie

Tennis – Girls
MVP – Shawn Kindley
Spark Plug – Liz Rhyne

MVP – Ivan Campos
Spark Plug – Abraham

MVP – Jessica Friday
Spark Plug – Emily

Junior Varsity
MVP – Tyler Lawrence
Spark Plug – Tricia

MVP – Joe Wilson
Spark Plug – Matthew

Basketball – Boys
MVP – Zack Gibson
Spark Plug – Lance Friday

Junior Varsity
Basketball – Boys
MVP – Phil Robinson
Spark Plug – Jamel

Basketball – Girls
MVP – Jessie Cline
Spark Plug – Andrea

Junior Varsity
Basketball – Girls
MVP – Keelie Steward
Spark Plug – Kendall

MVP – Dustin Weaver
Spark Plug – Matt Kuster
Gold Glove – Shane

Junior Varsity Baseball
MVP – Brandon Locklin
Spark Plug – Gabe Lail
Gold Glove – Demery

MVP – Santana Edwards
Spark Plug – Ashley

Boys Tennis
MVP – Adil Huslja
Spark Plug – Michael

Boys Track
MVP – Michael Segura
Spark Plug – Andrew

Girls Track
MVP – Charity Hamilton
Spark Plug – Lauren Pyant

MVP – Kyle Gazdec
Spark Plug – Morty

You must be logged in to post a comment Login