Home » Sports » Kuntz repeat winner

Kuntz repeat winner

Concord’s Jamie Kuntz collected the win in I.M.C.A. competition Saturday night at East Lincoln Speedway for the second consecutive week.
It was also the second time in as many weeks that controversy surrounded his victory. Competitor Richard Clew filed a post race protest against some engine components on the winning car.
In an effort to be assured their evaluation of the situation was correct speedway officials by telephone contacted Brett Root, Vice President of Operations for the sanctioning body in Vinton, Iowa who confirmed the parts are allowed.
Derrick Cook started the 25-lap event from the pole but relinquished the lead to outside front row starter Josh Wright after taking the green as the pair entered turn one. Wright held the point until lap 20 when Kuntz moved out front for the remaining five circuits.
Wright finished second, Clew third, Stoney Jackson fourth and Tom Kenney fifth.
In the 25-lap event for Late Model Modified-Sportsman, Brian Robinson collected his first ever win after three years of driving. When the green waved pole sitter Woody Vosburgh took the lead and stayed out front for the first 11 laps. At that point Robinson took command and stayed out front for the remaining 14 laps.
Completing the top five positions were Vosburgh, Brian Hickman, Troy Wilson and Mike Benfield.
In the Stock 4 feature defending track champion, Randy Powell repeated his performance from last week with a win over Jamie Major, Alan Hogan, Richard McKenzie and David Barnhardt.
Josh Hartwell and Jack Anderson finished the Rookie 4 feature in front of the pack, but were disqualified due to the lack of a muffler on their car. This moved third-place runner Daniel Roark into the winner’s circle. Others advancing were Michael Rife, Brandon Mundy, Adam Vandiver and Buck Stevens.
“It is our goal to be as neighborhood friendly as possible, therefore mufflers are required on all stock cars that compete at East Lincoln Speedway,” said speedway general manager James Honeycutt.
“This is very clearly stated in the track rule book and we will enforce it without exception to keep the noise level in the community as low as possible,” he added.
Tony Clements was the class of the field in Mini-Sprint action. Following Clements were Todd Hager, Kevin Sensor, Ron Sheets and Nick Fellenz.
The Road Hawg chase was won by George Laden.
Action returns to the 3/8-mile clay oval located at 1873 Mariposa Road, five miles east of Stanley, Saturday night beginning at 7 p.m.
Along with six divisions racing it will be ‘Kids Night.’ A free 1/64th scale NASCAR diecast race car will be given to each child as they enter the grandstand plus there will be a kids scratch. Cash will be placed in a sawdust pile with selected children being allowed to scratch for the loot. For more information call the speedway office at 704-263-5347.
by Staff Reports

You must be logged in to post a comment Login