Home » Sports » Midwest 2A announces all-conference teams

Midwest 2A announces all-conference teams

The Midwest 2A released its Fall All-Conference performers on Monday.
In volleyball, Heather Houser, Bandys’ coach, was named Coach of the Year. Hannah Scherr, also from Bandys, was named Player of the Year.
Other Lady Trojans that made the team are Allison Brown, Carlee Carpenter, Hanna Scherr and Jessica Turner.
Lincolnton’s Lindsey Sain and Beverly Hutchins, from West Lincoln, garnered spots as well.
In men’s soccer, Lincolnton, in only its second year, had four players play at an all-conference level. Adrian Andrade, Will Bogantes, Ivan Campos and Abraham Jiminez made the team.
West Lincoln’s Arelio Benitez and Drew Schronce also received slots.
Bandys’ Josh Eades and Jimmy Seechang received the honor too.
Jamie Robinson and David Steeves, both from Shelby, were named Player and Coach of the Year respectively.
In football, East Rutherford’s Aaron Palmer was named Offensive Player of the Year. Kent Crews, from Shelby, was named Defensive Player of the Year, while his coach Chris Norman garnered Coach of the Year.
The Golden Lions, who finished as 2A runner ups, had nine players make all-conference. East Rutherford followed them with eight.
Bandys’ Cody Bolick, Andrew Fearheiley, Tyler Mauney, Matt Oaks, Chris Spade, Johnny Spake and Matt Woodlief comprised the Trojans’ seven selections.
Lincolnton’s Darrell Friday, Lance Friday, Zack Gibson, Roger Rojas, Kyle Snyder and Wes Winburn were named.
Paul Chambers and Daniel Soto made it from West Lincoln.
In women’s tennis, Lincolnton’s Shawn Kindley was named the Player of the Year, while her coach Chris Hoffman won Coach of the Year.
Other Licolnton players that made the Midwest 2A All-Conference squad were: Anna Carpenter, Angela Graham, Jessica Newton, Liz Rhine and Shelly Stevens.
West Lincoln’s Nichol Mick and LeeAnna Young were all-conference performers, as well as Bandys’ Veronica Creed and Kimberly Yount.
In women’s cross country, Brittany Beeker earned Runner of the Year. Her coach Kim Fernetti was Coach of the Year. Kelly Pittman also made took home MW2A honors.
In men’s cross country, Addison Hodge was Runner of the year. Alan Sigmon, from Bandys, was Coach of the Year.
Lincolnton brothers Andrew and Michael Mauney made the team. West Lincoln’s Chris Angle and John Harkey were selected. Bandys’ Walter Blalock, Daniel Brown and Curtis Edwards were named.

by John Mark Brooks

You must be logged in to post a comment Login