Home » Sports » Yarbrough wins race

Yarbrough wins race

Denver’s Dan Yarbrough bided his time for 16 laps, then moved out front of leader Buddy Smith to lead and win the 20-lap main for Late Models at East Lincoln Speedway Saturday night.
Smith started on the pole and took the lead when the green waved with third place started Yarbrough on his rear bumper. Yarbrough made his move with four laps remaining. The pair touched resulting in a blown tire on Smith’s mount thus eliminating his chance for victory.
Ray Dockery started from the rear due to three consecutive wins but at the finish he was on Yarbrough’s bumper running second.
“I believe I could have it four in a row had there been three or four more laps,” said Dockery after the race.
David Yandle finished third, Smith fourth and Pete Edwards fifth.
Lynn Mercer won the Thunder & Lightin main. Super Stock V-8 feature winner was Billy Bishop. Jerry Oliver was victorious in Stock-4 action. Rookie-4 honors went to Jamie Major. Pete Martin took top honors in Sprint competition.
Last Saturday night was the final program at the 3/8-mile clay oval under the direction of Ernie and Boyd Knight. Due to health reasons the husband and wife team retired after nine years at the helm of East Lincoln Speedway.
James Honeycutt, who has served as race director for the last three years will all assume total responsibility for the day-to-day speedway operations as general manager.
“The track has been leased by a corporation made up of individuals that choose to remain somewhat in the background,” said Honeycutt.
“All parties involved are veterans of the motorsports industry which will be invaluable in our goal of taking East Lincoln Speedway to a higher level of success.”
Stock car racing actions resumes this Saturday beginning at 7 p.m. Featured will be six divisions with 200 laps of action. The track is located five miles east of Stanley on Mariposs Road. For more information, call the track office at (704)-263-5347.by Special to the LTN

You must be logged in to post a comment Login